Dutch Government Releases Further Details on 2019 Blacklist

The Netherlands government has released a full analysis on its published 'blacklist' of 16 low-tax jurisdictions from the Dutch Ministry of Finance before the start of the new financial year. The list is a result of new regulations by the EU Anti-Tax Avoidance Directive on the taxation of controlled foreign companies (CFCs) in EU member states, activated for future tax years from January 1st 2019.

The blacklisted countries now have a higher rate of taxation on undistributed passive income sourced from a controlled foreign company in the following countries (as well as five others on the EU list of non-cooperative jurisdictions):

  • The UAE.
  • Belize.
  • The Cayman Islands.
  • BVI.
  • Bermuda.
  • Guernsey.
  • The Isle of Man.
  • Jersey.
  • Turks & Caicos Islands.
  • Anguilla.
  • Bahrain.
  • Kuwait.
  • Qatar.
  • Saudi Arabia.
  • The Bahamas.