17 EU Member States Fail to Transpose 5MLD Requirements

More than two months after the deadline set by the European Union’s Fifth Anti-Money Laundering Directive (5MLD). Only five full Members of the European Union have set up publicly available registers of company beneficial ownership, in addition to the UK, they are:

  • Bulgaria.
  • Denmark.
  • Latvia.
  • Luxembourg.
  • Slovenia. 

According to anti-corruption campaign group Global Witness, the other 17 member states either have not established the register yet or have registers that are still not publicly accessible, despite clear calls for the requirement to be fulfilled.